Cyclocross course at Writtle College – 12 September

September 2011

Image for press release
(NOTE: This is an archived press release.)

PCA Ciclos Uno hosted the first race in the Eastern Cyclo-Cross League on Sunday 12 September. The first race was hosted by Writtle College, and the course was situated within the glorious College grounds.

The course designer for the Writtle College course was Kieran Dunlea from the Ciclos Uno team, and Mark Walker and Ed Woods from the Writtle College Sports Science team, coupled with an army of PCA Ciclos Uno volunteers, helped to make the first race a huge success.

Mark Walker, Deputy Head - School of Sport, Equine & Animal Sciences at Writtle College, is currently researching cyclocross racing. He studies riders from amateur to professional level examining pacing strategy and power distribution during racing.

The following details have been taken from a race report on the website:

Senior/Jun/Elite Vet

The Senior's race went right down to the wire as National Junior Champion Hugo Robinson (XRT-Elmy Cycles) held off a storming late surge from the 2010 Eastern League Champion and local Chelmsford rider Andrew Nichols (PCA Ciclos Uno) to win by half a wheel.

The race was dominated by Robinson and Nicholls as they took to the front together from lap four and forged ahead, with the lead changing hands constantly as they battled it out for the win. On the final lap Robinson managed to prise himself away from the determined Nichols by a handful of seconds and was zipping up his top as he approached the line when Nichols put in a stellar sprint to almost take the victory from under Robinson's nose.

Greg Simcock (Team Corley Cycles) rounded out the podium, finishing just 11 seconds adrift of the leading pair and taking the win in the Elite/Vet category.

With Hugo Robinson taking the Senior win, the Junior win was up for grabs and that went to Dan Stevens (Trog MTB) with Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Wheelers) second and Liam Joyce-Cowell putting in a strong performance in his debut race in PCA Ciclos Uno colours to complete the podium places.


Ciclos Uno

Ciclos Uno, a cycling specialist shop, has supplied equipment for Mark Walker’s continued research and are keen cyclocross research supporters.

Race results


1 Hugo Robinson (XRT Elmy Cycles) 59:45

2 Andrew Nichols (PCA Ciclos Uno) @ 2sec

3 Greg Simcock (Team Corley Cycles) @ 13sec

4 James Whatling (PCA Ciclos Uno) @ 2:12

5 Alex Baker (Orange Monkey) @ 2:49

6 Dan Stevens ( @ 3:04

7 Dan Howe (TROG MTB) @ 3:40

8 Tim Guy (Iceni Velo) @ 3:49

9 Martin Carter (Unattached) @ 4:02

10 Ben Paton (Amis Velo RT) @ 4:08


1 Phil Buick (Iceni Velo) 35:36

2 Bruce Robinson (Shaftesbury CC) @ 6sec

3 Geoff Bores (Ford CC) @ 14sec

4 Terry Minter (Tradervan) @ 40sec

5 Colin Cracknell (Ipswich BC) @ 1:03

6 Kevin Darragh (Maldon & Dist CC) @ 1:44

7 Bob Pisolker (Finsbury Park CC) @ 1:56

8 Kevin Carter (London Phoenix) @ 2:08

9 Bob Flack (Ford CC) @ 2:10

10 Graham Hart (Essex Roads CC) @ 2:28


1.) Anna Buick (University of Manchester)

2.) Imogen Buick (Iceni Velo)


1 Sean Dunlea (PCA Ciclos Uno) 32:40

2 James Tapley (Cambridge Tri Club) @ 2:53

3 Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) @ 2:55

4 Cameron Woolsey (CC Ashwell) @ same time

5 James Madgwick (Lee Valley YCC) @ 3:28

6 Alwyn Newstead (Ipswich BC) @ 3:54

Under-14s: Georg Jensen (Lee Valley YCC)

Girls: Francesca Morgans-Slader (Lee Valley YCC)

Under-12s: William Raymond (Welwyn Wheelers)

Under-10s: Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC)