Qualifications Explained

Writtle University College prides itself on the quality of its courses, facilities and staff. We offer a wide range of courses from a variety of subject areas.

Qualifications in England fit into the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) which is designed to help with career development and guide students to make informed decisions about which course is most appropriate for them.

As an international student you may study any of our courses provided they are at level NQF 3 or above. You must also show clear progression from any previous studies that you have undertaken in the UK. This is to comply with Student Visa student immigration law set by the UK Borders Agency.

NQF Level Examples of courses available to study at Writtle University College
8 [Postgraduate] Doctorates (PhD)
7 [Postgraduate] Masters degrees (MA, MSc, MSD, MPhil)
Postgraduate certificates
Postgraduate diplomas
6 [Undergraduate] Bachelors degrees
5 [Undergraduate] Diplomas of higher education
Foundation degrees
4 [Undergraduate] Certificates of higher education
3 [Further Education] Level 3 Advanced Diploma
Level 3 Diploma
Level 3 Certificate

Please click on the links below to find out more about the courses offered at Writtle University College:

  • Postgraduate Qualifications
  • Writtle University College provides postgraduate training in specialist areas relating to agriculture, design, equine, animal science and horticulture.

    Taught Awards

    Postgraduate Certificate and Postgraduate Diploma
    These courses provide further specialisation from undergraduate level and involve classroom based study. Postgraduate Certificates often include professional content and involve the minimum amount of study required for a postgraduate award whereas Postgraduate Diplomas have a more academic focus.

    Writtle University College students may register for a Postgraduate Certificate (one semester/term of full-time study) or Postgraduate Diploma (two semesters/terms of full-time study). The Postgraduate Certificate can be used as an entry qualification for a Postgraduate Diploma and, subsequently, a further period of study can take successful Diploma students to the Masters degree.

    Masters Degree
    Most Master's degrees in England are taught courses combining classroom based study, examinations and a dissertation. Writtle University College Masters (MSc, MA) degrees are a one year full-time taught course and demonstrates the attainment of mastery in the chosen subject area.

    Research Awards

    Master of Science by Dissertation (MSD)
    This award requires the equivalent of one full-time year of research investigation.

    Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
    An MPhil is awarded after the equivalent of two years successful full-time study and could lead to a Doctor of Philosophy programme.

    Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
    A PhD is a three year full-time research-based course that shows your ability to make a contribution to the subject area. It requires the completion of a thesis based on original research. Some PhDs may include a professional or practical component.

    Specific course information is available at Writtle University College - Postgraduate Courses

  • Undergraduate Degrees & Awards
  • Writtle University College's undergraduate courses are developed through industrial consultation to ensure that, on leaving the College, graduates are equipped with the skills and knowledge demanded by employers. As a result, students benefit from excellent job prospects.

    Higher Certificate

    If you are not yet ready to undertake a 3 year Bachelors degree you may wish to consider the Higher Certificate (Certificate of Higher Education) which represents completion of one year of full time undergraduate study. Holders would be expected to have a sound knowledge of their subject and the qualification may be used to gain entry to the Higher Diploma.

    Higher Diploma

    The Higher Diploma (Diploma of Higher Education) is a two year course which may allow transfer onto a degree course, although the qualification is also recognised in its own right. Holders would be expected to have a sound understanding of the principles in their field of study.

    Foundation Degree (FdSc or FdA)

    These degrees, offered since 2001, usually take two years to complete. They combine academic study with practical experience and are more flexible and career oriented than many traditional degrees. Writtle University College foundation degrees have been designed to meet the needs of industry. They have a strong practical focus integrated with relevant theory and learning is clearly linked to the work place. Foundation degrees can themselves be a progression route to a higher level qualification. For example, on successful completion of the foundation degree a student may be able to progress onto the final year of the related honours degree.

    Honours Degree (BSc or BA)

    This is the principal undergraduate qualification offered in England. Courses typically last for three years and entry is usually based on A Levels (or equivalent). Honours degrees at Writtle have a balance of theory and practice with an emphasis on employability, each completed year gives the student 120 credits. The final year of study leads to an Honours degree. Students normally specialise in one or two subjects, and a considerable amount of independent study and research is required, normally including a dissertation. The Bachelor (Honours) degree is the usual entry requirement for postgraduate study.

    Specific course information is available at Writtle University College - Undergraduate Courses

  • Further Education
  • Writtle offers a variety of courses in vocational subjects, which are more closely related to work and careers. This is often referred to as Further Education. As an international student you may study any of our further education courses provided they are at level NQF 3 or above. This is to comply with Student Visa student immigration law set by the UK Borders Agency.

    As well as being valuable qualifications in their own right, Further Education courses at Writtle University College can be an entry qualification for a university degree. Writtle's Further Education qualifications are important progression routes into Foundation and Honours degrees offered at the College and awarded by the University of Essex.

    NPTC (City & Guilds) Advanced National Certificate

    The practical content of the Advanced National Certificate is substantial, with a great deal of 'hands-on' teaching. These are 1 year courses.

    BTEC National Award/Certificate/Diploma/Extended Diploma

    These qualifications focus on a vocational area or occupation and are designed to provide students with the theoretical and technical skills required to work in a particular industry. These are for 1, 2 or 3 years.

    Specific course information is available at Writtle University College - Further Education Courses