Term and Semester Dates - Writtle College

Writtle achieves University College status

Read More

Term and Semester Dates

Term and Semester Dates

Click on the Semester Date that you wish to view

Term Dates 2016/17 Academic Year (Further Education Courses)

Term One
CommencesMonday 5th September 2016
Note: Year 2 students return Monday 12th September 2016
Half termMonday 24th October 2016 - Friday 28th October 2016
Teaching resumesMonday 31st October 2016
Inset dayWednesday 2nd November 2016
Christmas breakMonday 19th December 2016 - Monday 2nd January 2017
Inset dayTueday 3rd January 2017
Teaching resumesWednesday 4th January 2017
End of termFriday 10th February 2017
Term Two
Half termMonday 13th February 2017 - Friday 17th February 2017
CommencesMonday 20th February 2017
Inset dayThursday 9th March 2017
Easter breakMonday 3rd April 2017 - Monday 17 April 2017
Teaching resumesTuesday 18th April 2017
Inset dayFriday 26th May 2017
Half-term breakMonday 29th May 2017 - Friday 2nd June 2017
Teaching resumesMonday 5th June 2017
End of termFriday 23rd June 2017

Term Dates 2015/16 Academic Year (Further Education Courses)

Term One
CommencesMonday 7 September 2015
Note: Year 2 students return Monday 14 September 2015
Half termMonday 26 October 2015 - Friday 30 October 2015
Teaching resumesMonday 2 November 2015
Christmas breakMonday 21 December 2015 - Friday 1 January 2016
Teaching resumesMonday 4 January 2016
End of termFriday 29 January 2016
Term Two
CommencesMonday 1 February 2016
Half termMonday 15 February 2016 - Friday 19 February 2016
Teaching resumesMonday 22 February 2016
Easter breakTuesday 29 March 2016 - Friday 8 April 2016
Teaching resumesMonday 11 April 2016
Half-term breakTuesday 31 May 2016 - Friday 3 June 2016
Teaching resumesMonday 6 June 2016
End of termFriday 24 June 2016

Semester Dates 2016/17 Academic Year (Higher Education Courses)

Academic Enrolment and Induction
School of Sport, Equine and Animal Science
School of Sustainable Environment and Design
  • Academic Enrolment/Induction (Undergraduates – 1st Year students)
Monday 12 September 2016
(continues Tuesday 13 September 2016)
School of Sport, Equine and Animal Science
Academic Enrolment/Induction (Undergraduates) continuing and new 2nd and 3rd year students
  • Animal
  • Veterinary Physiotherapy
  • Sport
Tuesday 13 September 2016
School of Sport, Equine and Animal Science
Academic Enrolment/Induction (Undergraduates) continuing and new 2nd and 3rd year students
  • Equine
Friday 16 September 2016
Academic Enrolment/Induction
  • Postgraduates new and continuing full and part-time
Friday 16 September 2016
School of Sustainable Environment and Design
  • Academic Enrolment/Induction (Undergraduates) continuing and new 2nd and 3rd year students
Monday 19 September 2016
SEMESTER ONE: Monday 19 September 2016 to Friday 13 January 2017
Teaching Weeks 1-13Monday 19 September 2016 to
Friday 16 December 2016
Study Week (Week 9)Monday 14 November 2016 to
Friday 18 November 2016
Christmas BreakMonday 19 December 2015 to
Monday 2 January 2017
Revision/Assessment/Examination PeriodTuesday 3 January 2017 to
Friday 13 January 2017
Deadline for Extenuating Circumstances Forms for all Semester One AssessmentsFriday 20 January 2017
Examinations for students with approved Extenuating Circumstances for Semester One onlyWednesday 1 March 2017
Wednesday 8 March 2017
Wednesday 15 March 2017
Deadline for Extenuating Circumstances Forms for examinations held in March onlyFriday 17 March 2017
INTERSEMESTER BREAKMonday 16 January 2017 to
Friday 20 January 2017
SEMESTER TWO: Monday 23 January 2017 to Friday 19 May 2017
Teaching Weeks 1-11Monday 23 January 2017 to
Friday 7 April 2017
Study Week (Week 7)Monday 6 March 2017 to
Friday 10 March 2017
Easter BreakMonday 10 April 2017 to
Friday 21 April 2017
Teaching Weeks 12-13Monday 24 April 2017 to
Friday 5 May 2017
Revision/Assessment/Examination PeriodMonday 8 May 2017 to
Thursday 18 May 2017
Deadline for Extenuating Circumstances Forms for all Semester Two AssessmentsThursday 25 May 2017
Re-sit Examinations:
Years 1, 2 and 3 – Semester One and Two
Monday 10 July 2017 to
Friday 14 July 2017
Deadline for Extenuating Circumstances Forms for Semester One and Two Re-sit AssessmentsTuesday 18 July 2017
GRADUATION CEREMONY DATE(S)Early September 2017 (TBC)

You must be available for the examination and resit examination periods stated above. If you are ill or there is some other serious reason why you are unable to attend, you must submit an Extenuating Circumstances Form by the published deadline dates (see above).

Semester Dates 2015/16 Academic Year (Higher Education Courses)

Semester One
Sunday 13 September 2015Resident students move in to halls (new and continuing students)

Evening – Resident students Meet and Greet event
Monday 14 September 2015Undergraduate Academic Induction (new students)

The academic induction is your subject-specific welcome and formal introduction to your school and subject area.

Evening – Freshers' event

Evening – International Welcome Postgraduate international students - academic preparation and registration
Tuesday 15 September 2015Undergraduate Academic Induction (new and continuing students)

The academic induction is your subject-specific welcome and formal introduction to your school and subject area.

Evening – Freshers' event
Wednesday 16 September 2015Freshers' Fair
Thursday 17 September to
Friday 18 September 2015
Freshers' week commences (new and continuing students)

Students’ Union planned activities and events
Friday 18 September 2015Freshers' week commences (new and continuing students)

Students’ Union planned activities and events
Monday 21 September 2015
Friday 18 December 2015
Teaching Weeks 1-13
Monday 16 November 2015
Friday 20 November 2015
Employability Week (Week 9)
Monday 21 December 2015
Friday 1 January 2016
Christmas Break
Monday 4 January 2015
Friday 15 January 2016
Revision/Assessment/Examination Period
Friday 22 January 2016Deadline for Extenuating Circumstances Forms for all Semester One Assessments
Wednesday 2 March 2016
Wednesday 9 March 2016
Wednesday 16 March 2016
Examinations for students with approved Extenuating Circumstances for Semester One only
Friday 18 March 2016Deadline for Extenuating Circumstances Forms for examinations held in March only
Monday 18 January 2016
Friday 22 January 2016
Intersemester Break
Semester Two
Monday 25 January 2016
Friday 18 March 2016
Teaching Weeks 1-8
Monday 29 Febuary 2016
Thursday 3 March 2016
Study Week (Week 6)
Monday 21 March 2016
Friday 1 April 2016
Easter Break
Monday 4 April 2016
Friday 6 May 2016
Teaching Weeks 9-13
Monday 9 May 2016
Thursday 19 May 2016
Revision/Assessment/Examination Period
Thursday 26 May 2016Deadline for Extenuating Circumstances Forms for all Semester Two Assessments
Monday 11 July 2016
Friday 15 July 2016
Re-sit Examinations: Years 1, 2 and 3 – Semester One and Two
Tuesday 19 July 2016Deadline for Extenuating Circumstances Forms for Semester One and Two Re-sit Assessments
Early September 2016 (TBC)Graduation Ceremony Date(s)

You must be available for the examination and resit examination periods stated above. If you are ill or there is some other serious reason why you are unable to attend, you must submit an Extenuating Circumstances Form by the published deadline dates (see above).

Address

Writtle College
Chelmsford
Essex
CM1 3RR

Telephone

Switchboard: +44 (0) 1245 424200
Fax: +44 (0) 1245 420456

Email

info@writtle.ac.uk